Ramble on to Kansas: Carry On Wayward Son, Day 3-Natural History Museum

The next morning we changed hotels for one that was closer to downtown Lawrence.  It was right on the Kansas River but the river was pretty low.  We decided to get some lunch before heading to our destination for the day.  We found a place called Bob’s Barbecue that suited us just fine!

Hmmmm……the Hunter Special or the Mr. Moose Special??  How about one of each?

Today we had decided to go to the Natural History Museum at the University of Kansas.  I work on a college campus and I love visiting other campuses.  Meredith is really into dinosaurs so visiting was her idea but it was a good one.  I enjoyed the museum a lot.  When we first got there, a whole swarm of bees was flying around the doors.  We had to go in another entrance and we found out that there was a bee tree up on one of the floors but the guy working there said it was unusual for them to swarm like that.  BUGS anyone??

The bee tree in the museum!

 The bee swarm!

Oh, and we found miniature rainbow slinkies at the museum gift shop.  I really hoped to find one of the giant ones on this trip but I was happy to find the small ones.  If I haven’t said it before (or you haven’t already figured it out) we are very easily entertained. 

  ROCK CHALK, JAYHAWK, KU!

When we got back to the hotel we found our hotel door open.  Before we left they had called us about changing some lights and then a woman had come by to look at some of the lights in the bathroom.  I don’t know if they came to change lights or not but someone left the door open and we were freaking out.  I think we were all more worried about our laptops than anything.  Mine wouldn’t be worth anything to anyone else but it has so much stuff saved on it, it would be like losing one of my best friends.  Meredith called the front desk and then handed the phone to me.  She said, “You’re better at being mad.”  LOL

After this excitement we went strolling around Lawrence for a bit and ate at the Free State Brewery.  This place was the busiest place we went all weekend.  There were loads of people at the bar and the beer is supposed to be great but I don’t drink so it was lost on me.  The food, however, was not.  I had Pesto Chicken Pasta and it was AWESOME!  I am still craving it. 

The Eldridge Hotel in Lawrence is supposed to be haunted.  It was also too expensive for us to stay in.  Maybe next time!

We also visited the Lawrence Visitor’s Center that was just about to close when we got there.  We managed to get some Lawrence post cards (finally), crash an anniversary party (strange place for a party, IMO), and get some pics of an awesome statue out front….and of course, I made a SPN connection.  That’s what this trip was all about!

Carry On Wayward Son.  Click here for day 4: http://winchesterwoman.wordpress.com/2012/06/18/ramble-on-to-kansas-long-long-way-from-home-day-4-worlds-largest-ball-of-twine/

About winchesterwoman

Obsessed Supernatural fan. I help admin FB page Supernatural Seriously Awesome. Love writing fanfics. My pen name is Micaiah on FF.net and Supernaturalville.net. Love books, music, movies, photography, life in general. :) Con junkie. Just recently figured out that I love to travel to new places but I have a great fear of flying so if I can't get there by car, bus, train, or boat.....I'm probably not going. But that still leaves me with plenty of places to see! I love meeting new people. I love cats and I love pie. If I tell you anything else, there would be no mystery left!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ramble on to Kansas: Carry On Wayward Son, Day 3-Natural History Museum

  1. Lawrence is a far bigger town than I imagined, loving getting to see parts of it through your pics :) Have never heard of a bee tree in a museum before but trust the bees to swarm as you arrived! Did they do a mini moose special, the Mr Moose one sounded like 5 meals in one! And you found slinkies – awesome!

    • Lawrence is about three times the size of the town I work in (population wise) so it was much bigger than I thought it would be too. I had looked up the population before we went and was actually surprised. There was loads of things to do and if it’s like where I live, there is never a reason to be bored in a college town. There is always something to do on campus and most of the time it’s free! I thought the museum was pretty cool.

      I chose a much smaller meal at the BBQ place and it was still a lot of food! It was also very good!!

Leave a Reply

